Xegar Qude Monastery in Tingri County, Shigatse
Chinese Name: 协格尔曲德寺
English Name: Xegar Qude Monastery
Location: Located in Tingri County, 7 kilometers away from Mount Everest hotel
Admission Fee: Free
Opening Hours: All Day
About Xegar Qude Monastery in Tingri County, Shigatse
Xegar Qude Monastery is built on Xegar Jigang Mountain(协格尔金刚山) in 1385. There are 35 monks in this monastery. Its unique wall system is made of stone and adobe. After four different repairs and expansions, Xegar Qude Monastery looks more attractive to tourists.
According to legend, there was a practice cave on the mountain. Bang Luozhuidengye(邦·洛追登也) master and his son practice in this cave, and they predicted that there would be a monastery on this mountain. When Luoda Situqushurenqin(罗达．司徒曲述仁钦) stayed in power, they built a small monastery in 1385. The construction scale of this monastery was enlarged many times, and there were even reach 100 monks. All kinds of religious sects coexist and live together in peace. The Sakya sect, Xialu sect and Gelug Sect, each of them, has 7 Dratsang and 15 main halls. All of them dedicate to Shakya Muni gilded buddha. In 1645, during the fifth Darai Lama ruling, this monastery belongs to the Gelug Sect of unity, which has served 28 Lhasa khenpos. Then it became a part of Lhasa Sejia Monastery and used to be a place of collecting rents. Tripitaka printed in Xegar Qude Monastery was famous in Tibetan areas and it was collected over 100 Tripitakas in this monastery. These collections have high value for historical textual research and scientific research. In 1985, Xegar Qude Monastery was restored and there were 4 main halls and 40 monks there.
Xegar Qude Monastery is located in Xegar mountain, only 7 kilometers away from Tingri City seat. The advanced traffic system provides visitors convenient ways to travel. Visitors can take long-distance bus or choose self-driving.
• Traveling Seasons: All seasons